TL;DR
Get home appliances delivered free with Prime
- Fast, free delivery on millions of items
- Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
- Member-only deals all year
Amazon announced the Ring Smart Lock, its first smart lock, with a thumb-turn dial that can generate enough power to unlock the door if its rechargeable battery dies. The $249 lock is expected in the US in early 2027, pending FCC approval; its battery, Sidewalk connection and entry options are also among its listed features.
Amazon has announced the Ring Smart Lock, its first smart lock, with a thumb-turn dial that can generate power when the rechargeable battery dies. The company says turning the dial “a few times” can provide enough energy to unlock the door, addressing a common problem for keyless locks: getting inside when the battery runs out and no physical key is available.
The dial doubles as an emergency charger. Amazon says its motion can provide enough power to unlock the door and fully recharge the lock’s battery, but it has not specified how many turns are required. The lock uses Ring’s replaceable Quick Release Ultra Battery Pack and does not require wiring for installation, according to The Verge’s report.
For everyday access, the lock includes a fingerprint reader and a backlit touchscreen keypad. Owners can register multiple users and set schedules or temporary access codes that expire after a chosen period. The lock can also be operated and monitored through the Ring app or controlled with voice commands on Alexa-compatible devices, including Echo speakers.
Amazon plans to sell the lock in black, silver and brass for $249. It is expected to reach the US market in early 2027, subject to FCC approval. The announcement does not give a specific release date. The Ring Smart Lock also has no camera, so it cannot show owners who is at the door; Amazon says users would need a compatible doorbell or separate security camera for video.
A Backup When the Battery Dies
A dead battery can leave owners of keyless locks without their usual way inside, particularly if they are away from home and do not have a backup key. The Ring lock’s dial is designed to provide emergency access from outside by generating power through manual turning. That could make a battery failure less disruptive, though the company has not shared enough detail to assess how reliably or quickly the process works.
The lock also depends on Amazon Sidewalk rather than connecting directly to home Wi-Fi. Amazon says Sidewalk’s long-range, low-bandwidth network can support remote access and alerts when Wi-Fi is unavailable, provided there is adequate Sidewalk coverage where the lock is installed. That condition matters: connectivity and remote control may vary by location, and the announcement does not specify the lock’s range or what features remain available during a network outage.
For households considering the lock, the combination of fingerprint, keypad, app and voice access offers several ways to manage entry. Temporary codes and schedules may also help owners grant limited access to guests or service providers. Those capabilities do not replace the need to understand the lock’s battery and network limits before relying on it as a home’s main entry point.
Ring smart lock emergency power dial
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
How Ring Plans to Connect the Lock
The Ring Smart Lock is part of Amazon’s wider Ring security announcement, which also includes cameras. The Verge reported that the lock has no built-in camera; seeing a visitor would require pairing it with a smart doorbell or using another camera. That separates the lock’s access functions from video monitoring.
Amazon’s announcement also covered several cameras, including 4K models and indoor cameras with physical privacy shutters. Those products are separate from the lock and have their own prices and availability. The reported lock price is $249, with a planned US release in early 2027; it is not yet available to buy.
Unlike a lock that relies on the home’s Wi-Fi for its wireless connection, the Ring model uses Sidewalk, Amazon’s low-power, long-range network. The Verge report says remote access and entry alerts may continue through Wi-Fi outages where Sidewalk coverage is adequate. It does not establish that coverage is available at every home or describe the network’s performance for this product.
keyless smart lock with manual power generation
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
Battery and Coverage Details Pending
Several practical details remain unconfirmed. Amazon has not said how many turns are needed to generate emergency power, how long that charging process takes, or how much charge the dial can supply beyond the reported ability to unlock the door and recharge the battery. The announcement also does not state the battery’s normal operating life or how owners will be notified when it needs replacing.
The lock’s launch timing is conditional on FCC approval, and Amazon has not announced a specific release date. Sidewalk coverage is another open question for prospective buyers: the reported remote-access and alert features depend on adequate coverage, but availability at individual addresses is not specified. Details on compatibility with existing doors and installation requirements beyond the lack of wiring are also not provided in the source material.
smart lock with fingerprint keypad and emergency backup
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
US Launch Awaits FCC Review
The next stated milestone is the lock’s planned US availability in early 2027, if it receives FCC approval. Amazon has not provided a day or month for release. Before launch, further product information could clarify the emergency charging process, battery expectations, supported door setups and how customers can check Sidewalk coverage.
Until the lock goes on sale, the $249 price and announced features describe Amazon’s plan rather than a product customers can currently install. The company has not shared availability plans for markets outside the US in the supplied report.
Ring smart lock replacement battery pack
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
Key Questions
How does the Ring Smart Lock work if its battery dies?
Amazon says users can turn the thumb-turn dial to generate power. Turning it “a few times” is said to provide enough energy to unlock the door, but the company has not given an exact turn count.
When will the Ring Smart Lock be available?
It is expected in the US in early 2027, pending FCC approval. No specific release date has been announced.
How much will the lock cost?
Amazon’s announced price is $249. It is planned in black, silver and brass finishes.
Does the Ring Smart Lock include a camera?
No. The lock has no built-in camera. Owners would need a compatible video doorbell or a separate security camera to see visitors.
Does it connect through home Wi-Fi?
The lock uses Amazon Sidewalk for its wireless connection rather than relying on home Wi-Fi. Amazon’s reported remote-access and alert functions depend on adequate Sidewalk coverage.
Source: rss
NFL season / tailgating Picks
team gear
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
