Smart plugs with energy monitoring can show how much power a connected appliance uses while adding app control and schedules. I rank the Kasa Matter KP125M 2-pack best overall for combining Matter support with energy tracking; the Emporia 4-pack stands out for buyers who want several plugs, while the Tapo P115 offers a straightforward Wi-Fi option. The main tradeoffs are how each plug connects to your smart home, how many outlets you need, and whether its energy data is useful in the app you prefer. Check your appliance’s power requirements and your hub or voice assistant before choosing. Read on for the full comparison, buying advice, and picks by buyer type.
Get home appliances delivered free with Prime
- Fast, free delivery on millions of items
- Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
- Member-only deals all year
Complete the kit
Key Takeaways
- Kasa KP125M pairs Matter connectivity with energy monitoring, making the 2-pack my most balanced pick for a mixed smart home.
- Emporia’s 4-pack suits buyers who want to monitor several appliances at once, while requiring a Wi-Fi setup rather than Matter.
- Tapo P115 and P110M cover different priorities: the P115 is a Wi-Fi choice, while the P110M adds Matter support.
- The roundup includes several 4-packs, so the deciding factor is often ecosystem compatibility and app experience, not plug count alone.
- THIRDREALITY Gen3 and AiSeek add alternatives for buyers focused on a multi-plug set or a stated 15A capacity; check device requirements before use.
| smart plugs with energy monitoring | Connectivity | Model | Operating voltage | Pack size |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Kasa Matter Smart Plug with En | Matter, Wi-Fi, SmartThings | KP125MP2 | 120 V | 2-pack |
| Emporia Energy Monitoring Smar | 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi | EMSO1-4 | 120 V | — |
| Kasa Matter Smart Plug with En | Matter, Wi-Fi, SmartThings | KP125MP4 | 120 V | 4 |
| AiSeek Smart Plug with Energy | 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi, Bluetooth | KT-US-EM-15AP | 120 V | 4 |
| Govee Smart Plugs with Energy | Wi-Fi and Bluetooth | H5086 | 120 V AC | 4 |
| THIRDREALITY Smart Plug Gen3 | Zigbee 3.0 | — | 110 V | 4 plugs |
| Tapo P115 Smart Wi-Fi Plug wit | 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi | P115 | 125 V | 2 plugs |
| Tapo P110M Matter Smart Plugs | Matter, 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi | P110M | — | 4 plugs |
| Tapo P115 Smart Wi-Fi Plug wit | 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi | P115 | 110 V AC | 4 plugs |
| Kasa Smart Plug Mini with Ener | 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi | KP115 | 120 V AC | — |
More Details on Our Top Picks
Kasa Matter Smart Plug with Energy Monitoring, KP125MP2, 2-Pack
The Kasa KP125MP2 is the better fit for a home that already uses more than one smart home platform. Matter support spans Apple Home, Alexa, Google Home, and SmartThings, while energy tracking helps identify which connected devices are driving consumption. Its local network control can keep compatible routines working when internet access drops, a useful distinction from the Emporia Energy Monitoring Smart Plugs, which rely on internet-connected app or voice control. This two-pack is a practical way to monitor a pair of frequently used devices, though the four-plug options cover more outlets in one purchase. The main limits are a 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi requirement and a 15 A, 1800 W ceiling, so it is not suited to higher-load appliances. I would choose it for platform flexibility and local control over sheer plug count.
Pros:- Matter compatibility spans four major smart home platforms
- Tracks energy use over time
- Local network control can work without internet access
- Compact form and UL certified flame-retardant design
Cons:- Only two plugs are included
- Requires a 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi network
- Limited to 15 A and 1800 W
Best for: Households using Apple Home alongside Alexa, Google Home, or SmartThings that want energy data and local control for a couple of devices
Not ideal for: Buyers outfitting several rooms at once or anyone whose device exceeds the 15 A, 1800 W limit
- Model:KP125MP2
- Pack size:2-pack
- Maximum current:15 A
- Maximum wattage:1800 W
- Operating voltage:120 V
- Connectivity:Matter, Wi-Fi, SmartThings
- Wi-Fi band:2.4 GHz
- Compatible platforms:Apple Home, Amazon Alexa, Google Home, Samsung SmartThings
- Warranty:2-year limited warranty
Our verdict“Choose the Kasa KP125MP2 if platform flexibility and local control matter more than getting four monitored outlets in one pack.”
Emporia Energy Monitoring Smart Plugs, Wi-Fi, Alexa and Google Home Compatible, 4-Pack
The Emporia EMSO1-4 makes sense when the goal is to monitor several ordinary household devices across rooms without adding a hub. Its four-plug set supports energy tracking, scheduling, and remote status checks through the Emporia app, with Alexa and Google Assistant voice control. Compared with the Kasa Matter KP125MP4, Emporia is narrower in platform support and lacks the stated local-control option, but it offers touch and push-button controls alongside app and voice operation. The 1200 W limit is a meaningful constraint: it falls below the 1800 W capacity listed for the Kasa and Govee options, so I would keep it to lower-load devices such as lamps and fans. It also requires 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi and carries a one-year warranty. This is a straightforward multi-room pick, provided its load ceiling fits your devices.
Pros:- Four plugs cover multiple devices
- Energy tracking with app and remote control
- Scheduling plus Alexa and Google Assistant compatibility
- Touch and push-button controls are available
Cons:- 1200 W maximum is lower than the 1800 W capacity of several alternatives
- Works with 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi only
- One-year warranty
Best for: Buyers who want energy tracking and scheduled control for lamps, fans, and other lower-load devices in several rooms
Not ideal for: People monitoring appliances near or above 1200 W, or households that need Matter or Apple Home support
- Model:EMSO1-4
- Pack count:4
- Operating voltage:120 V
- Maximum wattage:1200 W
- Connectivity:2.4 GHz Wi-Fi
- Compatible assistants:Amazon Alexa, Google Assistant
- Control methods:App, remote, touch, voice, push button
- Scheduling:On/off scheduling
- Warranty:1 year
Our verdict“Pick Emporia for four app-managed monitoring points on lower-load devices if Matter and broader platform support are not priorities.”
Kasa Matter Smart Plug with Energy Monitoring, 4-Pack
For buyers who want energy monitoring across several devices without giving up smart home flexibility, the Kasa KP125MP4 is the strongest all-round fit in this group. The four-pack combines Matter support for Apple Home, Alexa, Google Home, and SmartThings with local network control when the internet is unavailable. That makes it a more adaptable choice than the Emporia four-pack, whose listed assistant support is limited to Alexa and Google Assistant and whose operation is described around internet access. Each plug supports up to 1800 W, matching the higher capacity of the Govee and AiSeek options. The tradeoffs are a 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi requirement and no listed Bluetooth connectivity. Its compact build and UL certified flame-retardant design add reassurance, while the two-year limited warranty outlasts Emporia’s one-year coverage. I’d rank it first for households that value both broad ecosystem support and multiple monitored outlets.
Pros:- Four plugs with energy monitoring
- Matter support across four major smart home platforms
- Local network control can remain available without internet
- 1800 W capacity and two-year limited warranty
Cons:- Requires a 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi network
- No Bluetooth connectivity is listed
- Four plugs may be more than needed for a small setup
Best for: Matter-enabled households seeking energy data and local control for several devices across Apple Home, Alexa, Google Home, or SmartThings
Not ideal for: Buyers who need 5 GHz Wi-Fi or Bluetooth connectivity, or only need one or two monitored outlets
- Model:KP125MP4
- Pack size:4
- Maximum wattage:1800 W
- Operating voltage:120 V
- Connectivity:Matter, Wi-Fi, SmartThings
- Wi-Fi band:2.4 GHz
- Compatible platforms:Apple Home, Amazon Alexa, Google Home, Samsung SmartThings
- Safety certification:UL certified flame-retardant design
- Warranty:2-year limited warranty
Our verdict“Choose the Kasa KP125MP4 for a multi-device Matter setup that needs broad platform support and local control.”
AiSeek Smart Plug with Energy Monitoring, 15A, 4-Pack
The AiSeek KT-US-EM-15AP suits buyers who want to use energy readings alongside timers, schedules, remote control, and group control in the SmartLife app. Its listed 1800 W capacity matches the Kasa Matter and Govee plugs, while overload and short-circuit protection are useful additions for everyday connected devices. Compared with the Kasa KP125MP4, AiSeek does not list Matter or Apple Home and SmartThings support; it instead centers setup and voice linking on SmartLife, with Alexa and Google Assistant available through that app. Bluetooth is listed alongside 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi, but the supplied details do not describe it as a substitute for Wi-Fi control. The four-pack helps cover multiple outlets, though buyers should be comfortable relying on a specific app for configuration. I’d choose it for schedule-heavy routines, not for a multi-platform Matter home.
Pros:- Tracks real-time power and energy use
- Supports schedules, timers, remote control, and group control
- 1800 W maximum capacity
- Overload and short-circuit protection are listed
Cons:- SmartLife app is required for setup and voice assistant linking
- Requires 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi
- No Matter or Apple Home compatibility is listed
Best for: SmartLife or Tuya users who want energy readings, group control, and schedules for several 120 V devices
Not ideal for: People who want Matter, Apple Home, or SmartThings support, or prefer setup without a required companion app
- Model:KT-US-EM-15AP
- Pack size:4
- Maximum wattage:1800 W
- Operating voltage:120 V
- Connectivity:2.4 GHz Wi-Fi, Bluetooth
- App compatibility:SmartLife, Tuya
- Voice assistants:Amazon Alexa, Google Assistant
- Dimensions:1.4 x 2.8 x 2 inches
- Warranty:2 years
Our verdict“Choose AiSeek if SmartLife scheduling and group control are central to how you manage monitored devices.”
Govee Smart Plugs with Energy Monitoring, Wi-Fi and Bluetooth, 4-Pack
Govee stands out for buyers who want more than a basic on/off energy readout: the H5086 tracks power, current, and voltage, with usage history available for up to one year in the Govee Home app. That makes it a more data-rich choice than the Emporia EMSO1-4, whose supplied details confirm energy monitoring but do not specify those electrical readings or the same history period. This four-pack also supports schedules, group control, and Alexa or Google Assistant voice control without a hub. Its 1800 W maximum matches the Kasa and AiSeek options, but Govee’s platform list is narrower than Kasa Matter’s, and its stated Wi-Fi support is 2.4 GHz only. Bluetooth is included, though the product details do not specify its exact role in setup or control. I’d pick Govee when historical electrical data is the deciding factor.
Pros:- Tracks power, current, and voltage
- Usage history available for up to one year
- Four plugs support scheduling and group control
- Works with Alexa and Google Assistant without a hub
Cons:- Does not support 5 GHz Wi-Fi
- Matter and Apple Home support are not listed
- The role of Bluetooth is not specified in the supplied product details
Best for: Data-minded Alexa or Google Home users who want long usage history and power, current, and voltage readings across several devices
Not ideal for: Households that need Matter, Apple Home, or 5 GHz Wi-Fi support
- Model:H5086
- Pack size:4
- Operating voltage:120 V AC
- Maximum wattage:1800 W
- Connectivity:Wi-Fi and Bluetooth
- Voice assistants:Amazon Alexa, Google Assistant
- Energy data:Power, current, voltage; usage history up to one year
- Hub required:No
- Certifications:ETL, FCC
Our verdict“Choose Govee if detailed electrical readings and a year of usage history matter more than Matter platform breadth.”
THIRDREALITY Smart Plug Gen3, 4-Pack
The THIRDREALITY Gen3 is the pick for buyers whose smart home already runs on Zigbee and who want each monitored plug to help strengthen the network. It reports connected-device power use and doubles as a Zigbee repeater, giving it a role the Wi-Fi-based Tapo P115 plugs do not fill. Its stated ±1% monitoring accuracy also makes the energy data a central reason to choose it. The tradeoff is setup: you need a compatible hub, and power-on status restoration depends on the platform. If you want straightforward app-based control without a hub, the Kasa KP115 is a simpler fit. Choose THIRDREALITY when mesh coverage and Zigbee integration matter more than plug-and-play convenience.
Pros:- Monitors connected-device power consumption with stated ±1% accuracy
- Repeats Zigbee signals to help extend mesh coverage
- Supports remote and voice control
- Compact design helps keep the neighboring socket free
Cons:- Requires a compatible Zigbee hub
- Power-on status restoration is available only on select platforms
Best for: Zigbee smart-home owners using Home Assistant, SmartThings, or Hubitat who want energy tracking and added mesh coverage.
Not ideal for: Buyers without a compatible Zigbee hub or those who want power-on restoration across platforms.
- Pack size:4 plugs
- Connectivity:Zigbee 3.0
- Hub required:Yes
- Operating voltage:110 V
- Power monitoring accuracy:±1%
- Operation mode:On/Off
- Control methods:Remote, voice
- Warranty:1 year
Our verdict“Choose the THIRDREALITY Gen3 if your Zigbee hub is already in place and you want monitoring plugs that also extend mesh coverage.”
Tapo P115 Smart Wi-Fi Plug with Energy Monitoring, 2-Pack, 15A
The two-pack Tapo P115 suits buyers who want energy statistics and everyday automation without adding a hub. Its Tapo app charts make consumption easier to review, while schedules and automatic shutoff can help manage devices that should not run continuously. Compared with the four-pack P115, this set covers fewer outlets but offers a smaller commitment for someone starting with a couple of appliances. The Kasa KP115 also works without a hub, but this Tapo bundle is the more direct choice if app-based energy statistics are the priority. Its limits are familiar Wi-Fi constraints: it only supports 2.4 GHz networks, and the rated load tops out at 15 A. It is a practical entry point for typical household devices, not a way to monitor heavier loads.
Pros:- Shows energy use through app statistics and charts
- Works with Alexa and Google Assistant
- Schedules and automatic shutoff support routine control
- Compact shape helps preserve access to neighboring outlets
Cons:- Connects only to 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi
- 15 A maximum rating limits use with higher-load equipment
Best for: First-time smart plug buyers who want to track a couple of household devices and automate them through one app.
Not ideal for: Households needing more than two monitored outlets at once or users whose Wi-Fi setup does not support 2.4 GHz devices.
- Model:P115
- Pack size:2 plugs
- Maximum wattage:1800 W
- Operating voltage:125 V
- Connectivity:2.4 GHz Wi-Fi
- Control:Tapo app, Alexa, Google Assistant
- Material:Polycarbonate
- Certifications:ETL, FCC, RoHS
Our verdict“Pick this two-pack to start monitoring a few ordinary appliances with app charts and scheduling, without a separate hub.”
Tapo P110M Matter Smart Plugs with Energy Monitoring, 4-Pack, 15A
The P110M is the strongest fit here for households that want energy monitoring across a mix of smart-home platforms. Its Matter compatibility spans Alexa, Apple HomeKit, Google Home, and SmartThings, so buyers have more flexibility than with the Wi-Fi-only Tapo P115 models. It also tracks consumption and supports scheduling and customizable power thresholds, which can turn energy readings into automatic responses. Compared with the THIRDREALITY Gen3, it avoids requiring a Zigbee hub, though it does not act as a mesh repeater. The main caveat is that Matter does not remove its network constraint: it still relies on 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi. Choose this four-pack for a multi-platform home; skip it if you specifically need Zigbee mesh coverage.
Pros:- Matter support covers Alexa, Apple HomeKit, Google Home, and SmartThings
- Tracks energy consumption and provides usage statistics
- Customizable power thresholds add automation options
- Compact design leaves neighboring outlets accessible
Cons:- Supports 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi only
- Does not provide the Zigbee repeating function found on the THIRDREALITY Gen3
Best for: Households using multiple Matter-compatible platforms that want energy tracking across several outlets.
Not ideal for: Buyers seeking Zigbee mesh repeaters or those unable to connect devices to a 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi network.
- Model:P110M
- Pack size:4 plugs
- Wattage:1800 W
- Connectivity:Matter, 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi
- Control methods:App, voice, scheduling
- Compatible platforms:Amazon Alexa, Apple HomeKit, Google Home, Samsung SmartThings
- Operation mode:Automatic
- Color:White
Our verdict“Choose the P110M four-pack when broad Matter platform support matters more to you than Zigbee mesh extension.”
Tapo P115 Smart Wi-Fi Plug with Energy Monitoring, 4-Pack, 15A
This P115 set is for buyers who want to monitor several appliances through the same familiar app. It combines energy statistics and estimated electricity costs with schedules, smart charging limits, and overload shutoff, giving it more household-management tools than the two-pack P115. Compared with the Matter-based P110M, it is the more direct fit for users already comfortable with Tapo app control and Alexa, Google Assistant, or SmartThings. That focused setup comes with less platform flexibility: this model uses 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi rather than Matter. The 15 A, 1800 W rating fits many everyday devices but should guide what you connect. If you want platform breadth, the P110M is a better match; if you need four monitored plugs in one app, this P115 bundle makes more sense.
Pros:- Tracks energy use and estimates electricity costs
- Supports Alexa, Google Assistant, and SmartThings control
- Includes schedules, charging limits, and overload shutoff
- Compact plugs help keep adjacent outlets usable
Cons:- Requires 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi
- 15 A and 1800 W ratings rule out higher-load applications
Best for: Tapo app users who want energy and cost estimates for several everyday appliances, with charging and overload controls.
Not ideal for: Buyers who want Matter-based platform flexibility or whose devices exceed the 15 A, 1800 W rating.
- Model:P115
- Pack size:4 plugs
- Maximum wattage:1800 W
- Operating voltage:110 V AC
- Connectivity:2.4 GHz Wi-Fi
- Control:Tapo app, Alexa, Google Assistant, SmartThings
- Material:Polycarbonate
- Certifications:ETL, FCC, RoHS
Our verdict“Choose this four-pack if you want cost estimates and practical controls for several devices in the Tapo app.”
Kasa Smart Plug Mini with Energy Monitoring (KP115)
The Kasa KP115 fits buyers who want energy monitoring in a single, straightforward Wi-Fi plug with added safety details. It supports overheating protection, a child safety cover, and UL certification, alongside remote control, schedules, and Alexa or Google Assistant voice commands. Like the two-pack Tapo P115, it does not need a hub; unlike the four-pack Tapo options, this is a one-plug choice for a specific appliance or a small trial of energy tracking. Its 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi requirement narrows compatibility, and the listing does not specify the same app-based charts or cost estimates described for the Tapo P115 four-pack. The two-year warranty is longer than the stated one-year coverage on the THIRDREALITY Gen3, though that Zigbee model is better suited to mesh-focused homes.
Pros:- Includes energy monitoring, schedules, and timers
- Overheating protection and child safety cover add safety features
- Works with Alexa and Google Assistant without a hub
- Two-year warranty
Cons:- Requires a 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi connection
- Single-plug format is less suited to monitoring several appliances
- No Matter or Zigbee connectivity
Best for: Buyers who want to monitor one appliance and value built-in safety features, UL certification, and a longer stated warranty.
Not ideal for: People needing several monitored outlets, Matter or Zigbee connectivity, or support for Wi-Fi bands beyond 2.4 GHz.
- Model:KP115
- Connectivity:2.4 GHz Wi-Fi
- Voice assistants:Amazon Alexa, Google Assistant
- Operating voltage:120 V AC
- Maximum wattage:1800 W
- Dimensions:2.62 × 1.57 × 1.5 inches
- Energy monitoring:Yes
- Safety certification:UL
- Warranty:2 years
Our verdict“Choose the KP115 for one monitored appliance when safety features and a two-year warranty matter more than multi-plug coverage.”

How We Picked
I compared these plugs on the factors that affect everyday monitoring: whether they report energy use, how they connect to a home network or smart home platform, the pack size, and stated outlet capacity. I also weighed setup and app dependence, since energy readings are only useful when a buyer can access and interpret them easily. Matter support can make a plug easier to fit into a multi-platform home, while Wi-Fi models may suit buyers who want a direct app-based setup.
The order reflects how well each option balances those needs for its intended buyer. Kasa KP125M leads as a flexible Matter-enabled pick; Emporia ranks highly for monitoring multiple outlets in one purchase. Tapo P110M and Kasa’s four-pack serve buyers who want Matter across several plugs, while the Wi-Fi-focused options make sense when ecosystem flexibility is less important. I distinguish similar products by pack size, connectivity and stated capacity, and give each a clear use case rather than treating every multi-pack as interchangeable.
Factors to Consider When Choosing Smart Plugs With Energy Monitoring
Before choosing a model, I would match the plug to the appliance and the way I manage my smart home. The details below address common purchase mistakes and help separate useful energy data from features that may go unused.
Check the Appliance’s Load Before the Plug
Start with the appliance label or manual and compare its electrical requirements with the plug’s stated rating. A 15A label does not mean every high-draw appliance is suitable, since motors and heating devices can have requirements that differ from a simple steady load. Smart plugs are generally intended for individual appliances, not as a way to power multiple devices through an overloaded strip. Pay attention to whether the manufacturer limits use with specific appliance types. When the load is unclear, choosing based on pack size or app features can lead to a poor fit. Match the device instructions and plug specifications before connecting it.
Choose Connectivity for Your Existing Setup
Matter can help a plug work across compatible smart home platforms, but it still depends on supported controllers and network conditions. Check whether your home has the required hub or controller before assuming Matter means a hub-free setup. Wi-Fi models can be simpler when you already use the manufacturer’s app and do not need cross-platform control. Bluetooth may help with nearby setup or control, but it does not replace checking the product’s remote access requirements. A common mistake is buying several plugs first and discovering that they do not integrate with the preferred voice assistant. Confirm the full connection path for the platform you use most.
Decide What You Want Energy Data to Tell You
Energy monitoring is most useful when it answers a specific question, such as whether an appliance draws power while idle or how its use changes over time. Look at the app’s reporting options and whether it presents current and historical consumption in a form you can act on. Do not assume every plug estimates operating cost the same way; electricity rates and billing plans vary. If you plan to compare appliances, use the same measurement period and note changes in how you use them. A single reading may not represent a typical week or month. Buy for the decision you want the data to support, not just the presence of a monitoring feature.
Balance Pack Size Against Placement
A 4-pack can make sense when several appliances are in the same home and each one benefits from monitoring. A 2-pack is a lower-commitment way to try an app or ecosystem before spreading it across more rooms. Check outlet spacing and the plug’s dimensions, especially near neighboring sockets or furniture. A compact plug may be more useful than a larger bundle if the outlet is tight. Avoid buying extra units for devices that rarely need scheduling or energy tracking. The right quantity depends on where you can place them and what you intend to learn.
Look at Local Control and Internet Dependence
Smart home behavior can change when internet access or a vendor service is unavailable, so check how the plug handles schedules and control offline. Matter compatibility alone does not answer every question about local control, energy history or app access. If the plug is for a routine appliance, think about whether its schedule should continue during a network outage. Also check whether energy reports are stored locally, in the app, or through an account. Those differences affect privacy and how easily you can retrieve data later. Choose the arrangement that fits your tolerance for cloud services and account-based features.
Pay More for Compatibility or Coverage You Will Use
A larger pack can reduce the hassle of adding devices one at a time, but it brings little value if several plugs will sit unused. Matter may be worth prioritizing if you expect to switch platforms or already coordinate devices through a compatible controller. A familiar app can matter more when the goal is simply to see consumption and create schedules. Consider how many appliances need tracking, whether you need voice control, and who else in the home will manage the plugs. Beginners often benefit from starting with a small set and learning the app before expanding. Buyers with a clear monitoring plan can choose a multi-pack with greater confidence.
Frequently Asked Questions
Does a Matter smart plug need a hub to show energy use?
It depends on the plug and the platform you plan to use. Matter devices need a compatible controller, and some setups also require a Thread border router; Wi-Fi Matter products may have different requirements. Energy readings may appear through the plug maker’s app or through a compatible smart home platform, with different levels of detail. Check the product’s setup requirements and confirm that energy monitoring is exposed in your preferred app. If you want the simplest path, choose based on the controller and app you already use.
Can I use an energy-monitoring plug with a heater, air conditioner or refrigerator?
Only if the appliance’s electrical load and operating behavior fit the plug maker’s specifications. Heating appliances, compressors and motors can place different demands on a plug than small electronics, so the printed amp rating alone is not a complete compatibility check. Read both product manuals and follow any restrictions on appliance types. Avoid using a smart plug as a workaround for a device that requires a dedicated circuit or direct wall connection. When specifications conflict or remain unclear, use a plug approved for that appliance or consult a qualified electrician.
Will these plugs measure my electricity bill exactly?
No plug should be treated as a substitute for the utility meter or a guaranteed bill calculator. A plug can report consumption for the device connected to it, but total cost depends on your tariff, time-of-use rates, fees and billing period. App estimates may require you to enter an electricity rate, and a flat rate may not match a variable plan. Use readings to compare usage patterns or identify standby draw, then check your bill for actual charges. For whole-home totals, a plug-level monitor cannot capture appliances connected elsewhere.
Is a four-pack better value than buying two plugs?
A four-pack is useful when you already know which several appliances you want to monitor and the included plugs fit your outlets. The Emporia, Kasa and Tapo options in this roundup offer multi-plug packs, but their connectivity and app ecosystems differ, so pack count alone is a weak comparison. A two-pack lets you learn the setup and energy reports before committing to more devices. Consider outlet placement, platform compatibility and how often you will use each reading. Unused plugs do not help you understand energy use.
Can I keep schedules and energy history if my Wi-Fi goes down?
Behavior during an outage varies by model and by where its schedules and records are stored. Some automations may depend on cloud services, while local smart home controllers can support certain functions without internet access. Historical energy data may only sync or display after the connection returns. Check the manufacturer’s documentation for offline scheduling and local control, rather than assuming that Matter or Wi-Fi guarantees either. If outage behavior matters, test one plug in your intended setup before adding a full set.
Conclusion
For the broadest mix of ecosystem flexibility and monitoring, I would choose the Kasa Matter KP125M 2-pack as the best overall. Buyers who want more plugs in one purchase should compare the Emporia 4-pack for multi-appliance tracking and the Kasa or Tapo Matter packs for Matter-based setups. The Tapo P115 is a good beginner route for a Wi-Fi app setup, while the THIRDREALITY Gen3 and AiSeek 15A suit buyers whose priorities align with those models’ stated formats and capacity. For a specific need, choose the P110M or KP125M when Matter matters, and choose a Wi-Fi model when the maker’s app fits your routine. Verify appliance load, platform support and energy reporting before settling on a pack.













